National Trust, Buscot & Coleshill
Contact: Christian Walker
T: 01793 762209
Visit the two neighbouring estates of Buscot and Coleshill, each quintessentially English and yet completely unique. Discover how their characters have been defined by their landscapes as well as the legacy of a string of extraordinary landowners. All carved their ambitions and personalities on to their estates.
At Buscot, learn of the grandiose schemes of 19th century landowner, Robert Tertius Campbell, who made his money in Australian gold fields. His ambitious plans to turn Buscot Park into the most progressive farm of its time are still etched into the fabric of the village, but were thwarted by bankruptcy.
Or discover how the pioneering dreams of a well-travelled Stuart gentleman were turned into reality with the architecturally pioneering Coleshill House, only for it to be destroyed by fire 300 years later.
Buscot’s history is inextricably linked to its proximity to England’s longest river, the Thames. And the fortunes of this extensive estate have ebbed and flowed, just like the iconic river it straddles.
Records show a mill at Coleshill dating back to 1086. Owned by the lord of the manor, all his tenants would have been obliged to use it. Last used in the 1920s to mill animal feed, we renovated it in 2005.
Dating back to the Domesday Book, the manor of Coleshill has witnessed a vibrant snapshot of English history from the turbulent Tudors, ambitious Stuarts to visionary Victorians.